20 standards for interoperability

Here in Denmark, our Minister of Science, Technology and Innovation, Mr Helge Sander, today announced a list of 20 standards that are found essential to the on-going reform in the public sector. The list is presented together with Local Government Denmark (LGDK) and Danish Regions. The list contains almost only open standards (Norway, check this!), and is a kind of “Best of the Interoperability Framework.

Disclosure: I work for Mr Sander, and have been heavily involved in making this list.

The list, which is only available in Danish, contains the following standards:

  • WAI Level 2
  • WSRP 1.0
  • UTF-8
  • RSS 2.0
  • PDF Reference v. 1.5
  • Government Digital Signature (OCES)
  • XML 1.0
  • XML Schema 1.0
  • UML 2.0
  • FESD-datamodel (document management data model)
  • FESD-datastandarder (document management metadata standards)
  • WS-I Basic Profile 1.1
  • WS-Security
  • XML Signature
  • XML Encryption
  • LDAP 3.0
  • SAML
  • DS484 (National standard for security processes)

I welcome comments and press inquiries (+45 40605727).

Previous Post
Interoperability and standards
Next Post
Tag-lover’s Delight

Related Posts

No results found.


  • Good to see XHTML on that list, but why no CSS? XML-RPC/SOAP? DOM? SMIL? WAI? MWI? XPath or maybe XForms?

  • Hi Jacob,

    Well, we had to choose … note that the list is not “just” about web technologies.
    But WAI is on the list! And SOAP is part of WS-I Basic Profile.
    Isn’t both CSS and MWI somehow implied when we emphasise XHTML? Perhaps not directly …
    The rest are in the framework though.

  • Sorry, I guess I read the list too fast. Good to see that SOAP and WAI is there too. But what about SMIL? When governmental organizations start videorecording their meetings and broadcasting it online, we’ll need a way to know what’s being said – SMIL helps accessbility matters related to this.

    I do not think you imply CSS by saying XHTML, but yes – it’s better to write XHTML than just CSS. A lot of people do not really understand that the XHTML standard says that a layout does not consist of tables for presentation and keep doing what they’ve always done. By saying XHTML1+CSS2 you encourage design free of deeply nested tables. That would be a big step for the government.

    MWI is an important matter, but there’s no real standards yet. We’ve just seen the tip of the iceberg and MWI is VERY new, it’s just been a few months since Berners-Lee introduced the initiative in Japan.

  • Greetings,

    Can you tell me the definition of “open standard” according to the Ministry? Is this the same as in Norway? Other European countries? Thanks much.

Comments are closed.